Rear main seal leak

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2013, 01:34 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear main seal leak

I recently bought a 2002 Acura RL with 182k on it, the car is in great condition and is a one owner vehicle according to carfax and all the service records the lady left in the car, so far ive only installed new wheels, tires, new rotors, brakes and done a complete tune up. after inspecting the bottom of the vehicle i found that the car has a minor leak coming from around the rear main seal of the car i took the car to the mechanic and he confirmed that it is a rear main seal leak and quoted me 1200 for the job after doing some research i figured i will do the job myself i am not an expert but i am in the mechanic field in the military and consider myself fully capable of doing the job. my question is do you guys recommend replacing anything else while im there? so far i purchased the following items from the dealership itself: rear main seal, rear main seal plate o-ring, torque convertor seal, torque convertor o-ring and some honda bond. if anyone has any tips or pictures of this job i would greatly aprecite it.
thank you for your time.
Old 12-28-2013, 03:09 PM
Racer

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Hi Edge, I just got my car worked on at Acura, and I've got the same problem. Luckily it is a minor leak. They wanted over a grand to work on it and it is about 10+ hours of labor. It takes a lift to get under the car to remove stuff that needs to. And from what I understand, it's a very labor intensive project. Although I have a question on the matter, too. Like I said, mine leaks just a little bit, it it possible that the seal could catastrophically fail? Or will it only be gradual? I'd hate to be stuck on I-10 in between LA and Phoenix in the middle of August going back to my university...

By the way, thanks for your service! My grandfather was a mechanic for the Air Force.
Old 12-28-2013, 03:24 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts